Annuity vs 4% rule

Discussion in '401k, IRA and Retirement' started by MalorieJX, Jun 13, 2014.

1. MalorieJX

MalorieJX Well-Known Member

I'm super noob here so bear with me.

This weekend my FIL was telling me his colleagues are talking about an annuity where they put $400,000 down and get a guaranteed $2500 income for his and spouse's lifetime.

I tried to see if this was a good deal and used an online calc that allowed me to figure our the monthly payout per month. Conservative number said 2999 per month, aggressive said 3500 or more. Don't remember. That calculator was oversimplified anyway.

So now I apply the 4% rule (just read the article) since it pretty much guarantees not dying broke, and take that same $400,000, withdraw 4% 1st year, and I get $1333 income per month. So why wouldn't I choose the annuity with almost double guaranteed income until death?

2. JR Ewing

JR Ewing Super Moderator Staff Member

Annuities can be quite complex, and there are some very good and not-so-good ones out there. Better companies include Lincoln, Prudential, Jackson, Nationwide, and John Hancock. Generally the more features the annuity offers, the more expensive it is. And any annuity is basically only as good as the company you buy it from. I'd have several different advisors explain several different products from several different companies to you in detail, including fees, etc. - and then you can go from there.

I posted up a pretty good writeup either in this subforum or perhaps another one on this board a couple of months ago.

3. crimsonghost747

crimsonghost747 Senior Investor