DIamonds

Discussion in 'Commodities Forum' started by Rhoda D'Ettore, Oct 31, 2014.

1. Rhoda D'Ettore

Rhoda D'Ettore Guest

I am new to investing, and I was recently told that diamonds are unpredictable. I thought diamonds were a constant, but then realized perhaps the whole "blood diamond" issue came into play with this, as well as the conflicts in Africa. Are diamonds worth the investment or not? thanks.

2. SteakTartare

SteakTartare Senior Investor

Are you talking about investing in individual diamonds, companies that sell them, or mining companies? If its is the former, I know it can be done, but you really need to understand the market before taking the plunge.

3. Rhoda D'Ettore

Rhoda D'Ettore Guest

Thanks.. I should have clarified. Sorry. I was talking about actual personal jewelry. I bought a piece for $2500 from someone who was desperate. It turned out that three different jewelers appraised it at $10,000. I start thinking that if I can do this, with legitimate jewelers appraising, it would not only help me as an investment, but it would help the person who was in need of the cash.

I just did not know if the value of the stones would in fact keep going up.

4. springbreeze

springbreeze Well-Known Member

I personally think jewelry (stones and gold) are always a good investment. They are one thing that can always be (re)sold. At the same time, its market value does fluctuate. But look at this way, it's less of a risk. If you were to invest in a company or stocks, you could lose all your money and be left with 0. But with jewelry, as long as you have it in your possession, you'll always have potential money in your hand. A diamond can never be reduced to $0.

5. Rainman

Rainman Senior Investor