House Flipping: Is it still worth it?

Discussion in 'Buying & Selling Real Estate' started by RavenLily, Mar 14, 2016.

1. RavenLily

RavenLily Member

My fiance has come up with the plan to buy fixer upper houses and then flip them. I've read online that this is not a good idea with today's market and would love some of your thoughts and opinions on the matter. I personally think it can still be done, especially in our small state of SC, but I'm not an expert. He wants to live in them for about a year and then flip it on the market for a small profit. He doesn't want to get rich on one house, but a collection of homes. What do you think? Is it silly for us to start doing this at this time?

2. Reydbj

Reydbj Guest

Don't want to sound pompous. But are you investing or gambling. If you praying for the quick gain without thorough analysis and a strategic plan, sounds like the latter. #investwithaplan

3. Reydbj

Reydbj Guest

Btw. Beware of free education online

4. baudwalk

baudwalk Senior Investor

Flipping houses really depends upon the region of the country and perhaps down to the very local market defined by blocks or a radius in single-digit miles. Around here most properties are on the marlet for 2 or 3 or 4 years; some are on-and-off the sale list several times over that period of time. A flipper would be out of business in short order. I know there have been previous threads on the subject. You may want to search for the older threads and see what other board members have offered in their commenrs.

5. crimsonghost747

crimsonghost747 Senior Investor