How do penny stocks really work?

Discussion in 'Penny Stocks' started by Sandra, Aug 23, 2015.

1. Sandra

Sandra Active Member

I am new to the idea of stock market and stock exchange and I was thinking that penny stocks were more for beginners. However, while reading other posts and comments, I have been getting the notion that penny stocks are highly risky and not really a good idea. So, what exactly are penny stocks and how do they work? Is it as risky as some make it out to be?

2. Kicker774

Kicker774 Well-Known Member

Penny stocks are generally small companies (Small-cap) trading off the major exchanges.

There are many reputable businesses trying to make a living so to speak in these minor leagues, but unfortunately they've earned a bad reputation from pump and dump scams over the past decade or two.

They can be highly volatile because of the wide margin between the buying price and the selling price. With low volume you could be stuck hanging onto a penny stock for sometime unlike major stocks that are purchased and sold a dozen times over with the blink of an eye.

It's likely much harder to do your homework on a penny stock as well. This Frink Enterprises company claims to be on the verge of completing a device that converts a babys cries into plain English but all you can find is one website claiming Frink is the genius of the century. His company financials are no where to be found, all you have is an address which appears to be a mini-storage unit.

He very well could be the Thomas Edison of our times. But he could also be a crackpot with a gambling addiction.

Meanwhile you can hop over to the NASDAQ pull up CSCO and find orders are up 28% for the coming 2nd quarter and the new CIO has found a way to reduce expenses by 9% by restructuring their short-term debt into long-term.