Penny stocks - are they worth it?

Discussion in 'Penny Stocks' started by Lexi, Aug 25, 2014.

1. Lexi

Lexi Guest

Penny stocks have both good and bad reviews. As someone new to the stock market, I am curious about penny stocks.
    From my perspective, they seem to be a poor choice. Am I wrong? I have very little knowledge and am open to all opinions. Thanks.

2. Profit5500

Profit5500 Senior Investor

No you are not wrong they are a bad choice and the chance are slim for winning lots of money. I don't know if there is a skilled way to win in penny stocks. This is why I am not going to go into doing any betting with them.

3. JR Ewing

JR Ewing Super Moderator Staff Member

I'd read all of the threads in this forum carefully before you consider buying any low priced stocks.

4. Lexi

Lexi Guest

That is the plan. I won't actually be investing for a while. I want to learn and make "fantasy" investments before risking anything. I am sure I will find all the advice needed to get started in this forum.

Thanks guys.

5. tradingpulsealpha

tradingpulsealpha Active Member

Penny stocks are either scams, or lottery tickets, many of them have no real business+ given the microscopic price the transaction fees are huge compared to the capital gains.

Start by some good stocks with a booming business.

6. Fury

Fury Member

I tell all of my friends who are interested in learning to invest that they have to invest in a few penny stocks as their "training wheels" and then they should never invest in them again.