Small condo instead of apartment

Discussion in 'Buying & Selling Real Estate' started by Corzhens, Sep 11, 2015.

1. Corzhens

Corzhens Senior Investor

The small condo is getting popular here. The mention of condo gives one the impression of a building but the small condo is a 2-story or 3-story building with 6 to 10 units of condominium. Manned by an admin and a security guard, the residential condo seems cozy especially when there is ample parking. An aunt lives in one and she says it is like having a family since there is a certain closeness among the residents unlike when living in a building condo.

2. baudwalk

baudwalk Senior Investor

An apartment may be better under certain conditions. I am not an expert on condo resales but it is my peception that in many areas of the USA sellers struggle with condo fees and take huge losses to escape. Then again, in my area many houses are on the market for 3-5 years. Location, location, location. It don't come easy, as the song says. My perception? The housing market in general has suffered since the end of the Bush presidency and tanked one into Obama's first term.

3. pwarbi

pwarbi Senior Investor

Living in a place and then selling it in are two different things. A person might be happier to live in a condo, but when the time comes to move on and sell it, it would be easier to sell an apartment or an house as there are more people that will be looking for that kind of property.

4. Sunflogun

Sunflogun Well-Known Member

A condo has advantages an apartment hasn't, but at the same time it's more expensive. I think above all that is safer, so it depends on how exclusive you want to be.

5. Corzhens

Corzhens Senior Investor