Thought about buying an income property, then came across REITs. Anyone have experience?

Discussion in 'Buying & Selling Real Estate' started by Stacked, Mar 21, 2014.

1. Stacked

Stacked Active Member

Hi all. I'm a 35yo professional and have just over a year's worth of drawing a salary under my belt. I'm single and earn more than I need, so pretty much all my extra money is just dumped into my retirement. I want to expand and try out some investing on my own to gain some experience.

I was originally interested in purchasing an income property, but after research and asking family/friends/coworkers, I came across the idea of investing in a real estate trust. Have any of you guys invested in these, and any advice or concerns?

Thanks!

2. Guardian

Guardian Member

A good portion of my investments are in REITs and I like to keep it that way. My favorite is NYMT, they pay a great dividend and the stock price has been stable and slightly on the upside the past few years. Especially if they pay a dividend with a stable price, I feel they have much more potential to gain a higher return in the long run. In the short term you are even collecting some back. Personally I just reinvest the dividends, but at the end of the day the potential is multiplied.

I wouldn't mind owning income properties either though, a lot of potential there as well, just a bit more work.

3. SteakTartare

SteakTartare Senior Investor

I did indeed invest in a REIT back in the mid-2000s. The return on the investment was phenomenal. However, I began to be concerned (turns out rightly) about the housing market and got out. I bailed too soon, but I suppose that is better than too late.

Anyway, I like them and would get back into it again. It provides some of the potential of real estate investment, minus all the hassles of actually owning the property.

4. HeinrichM

HeinrichM Active Member