To any members that make a living, or substantial supplemental income investing

Discussion in 'Stock Market Education' started by Gomer, Mar 17, 2014.

1. Gomer

Gomer Well-Known Member

Just a question as to what education you may have in the field.

how long did it take you to become financially stable enough to make this your primary income, if it is? or at least be a good secondary income?

I have been investing in as many things as i could for a few years. more recently actually getting involved and trying to do a better job of TA, exploring different vehicles. i.e. options, forex, and all that good stuff. Anyway, i was talking to an older guy i work with who has made more digits in the market than i have in total income from any source, in my lifetime so far. And he told me i need to get off my ass and go get an education in it, because apparently, he sees this is much more interesting to me than my current job.

It kind of raised the question. What would i get a degree in that would really give me an edge here, if there is one. I have read a lot of books. Done a lot of my own research, here on this forum and other places, and felt i was well on my way to being successful in making a passive income out of this. now i am questioning is there a more formal education that any of you have received, other than self education and school of hard knocks? I do have a GI bill that is good for quite some time still yet. so school would be little to nothing for me, but i quit pursuing it for a while, (all excuses, i know) but due to life getting in the way, time, kids, all that. but most of all, i know what i want, and didn't feel any degree would really help me achieve that.

Thanks for any input.

2. JR Ewing

JR Ewing Super Moderator Staff Member