What stocks are best for a beginner?

Discussion in 'Stock Market Forum' started by Rosyrain, May 11, 2014.

1. Rosyrain

Rosyrain Senior Investor

I am new to the market and not ready to go for th NASDAQ or anything like that yet, so what are the best choices for a newbie. I would like to have a couple risky and and I conservative investment.

2. sully3333

sully3333 Member

P&G tends to be a very reliable stock, as well as Microsoft.

3. ap4aaron

ap4aaron Member

I have to second Microsoft. However, NASDAQ has some very good business opportunities, so I would encourage you to look into it

4. mark973

mark973 Well-Known Member

Microsoft stock might be one to invest in. Microsoft isn't really risky and pretty reliable so you could definitely try it. You could also try some of the lower stocks such as Yahoo.

5. JR Ewing

JR Ewing Super Moderator Staff Member

I'd read some of the writings of some of the authors we've recommended here to gain an understanding of how to invest and what to look for in investments. Then you can dig in and find those investments that have what you will look for.

In the meantime, you might consider putting your $ into either:

1) something very stable like savings or CDs;
    or
    2) something like bonds that pay more interest than deposit accounts and may fluctuate some but also guarantees a return of principal;
    or
    3) something that mimics the market such as an index fund;
    or
    4) something managed by a pro like a fund of some sorts or an account with a full-service firm...

until you're comfortable enough to pick your own investments.

6. wanderingwildman

wanderingwildman Well-Known Member

Microsoft is a good choice. We certainly will never stop having a need for computers. I would stick with something safe like that in the technology field. Good luck!

7. Strykstar

Strykstar Well-Known Member

Coming into this topic I had no idea there would be so many people saying Microsoft, it seems like the consensus.